Chelsea Win their Second Champions League

Chelsea win their Second Champions League in the club’s history after beating Manchester City.

The final match ended at Estádio do Dragão in Porto, Portugal.

Manchester City had beaten Paris Saint-Germain in the semi-finals.

Similarly, Chelsea had knocked out Real Madrid, the record holder for winning the UCL title.

Manchester City started with a line-up consisting of:

Ederson. Walker, Dias, Stones, Zinchenko. Gundogan, Silva, Foden. Sterling, De Bruyne, Mahrez.

Chelsea started with this line-up: Mendy. Rudiger, Silva, James. Azpilicueta, Kante, Jorginho, Chilwell. Mount, Havertz, Werner.

Chelsea win their Second Champions League

With a clean sheet, Chelsea won their second Champions League in the club’s history against City.

The only goal of the match came through Havertz in the 43rd minute.

The goal came as a result of a perfect pass from his teammate Mason Mount, then Havertz dribbled past the Brazilian goalkeeper Ederson, and hit the empty net.

This is Havertz’s first goal in the Champions League.

Last summer, the player moved to Chelsea from Bayer Leverkusen.

Havertz became the first player to score his first Champions League goal in a final since 2013.

At the time, Gundogan, the former Borussia Dortmund and current Manchester City player, scored in the 2013 final against Bayern Munich.

He became the youngest German player (21 years and 352 days) to score in a Champions League final since 1997.

In the 1997 final, Lars Riken (20 years and 322 days) scored a goal for Dortmund against Juventus.


See also: Villarreal Win Their First Europea League

You might also like