De Bruyne: We have not lost hope in the Premier League title despite the loss to Liverpool


Belgian international Kevin De Bruyne, Manchester City player, confirmed that his team is still committed to the competition for the English Premier League title, despite the severe loss it suffered against Liverpool yesterday at the end of the eleventh round of the Premier League.


Kevin De Bruyne said in exclusive statements to “On Time Sport” channel: “The defeat against Liverpool is unfortunate, but we are committed to the competition for the English Premier League title.”


Kevin De Bruyne added: “We are competing with big clubs for the Premier League title, but we have not lost hope.”


This came on the sidelines of his attendance at the Ballon d’Or award ceremony for the best player in the world, which is currently being held in the French capital, Paris, to be held at nine in the evening today, and presented annually by “France Football” magazine.


This year, the award is witnessing a major surprise in the absence of Argentine star Lionel Messi from the list of nominees for the first time in many years, specifically since he was chosen among the list of nominees for the award for the first time in the 2026 edition.


Messi won it last year to be the seventh time he crowned this award, achieving an exciting record as the most recipients throughout his football career so far, and only Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo, who won the Golden Ball 5 times, the last of which was in 2017.


Several media and press reports indicate that the French Karim Benzema will be the most likely to win the award this time in light of the exceptional season he presented with Real Madrid last season and his well-deserved victory with the Spanish League and European Champions League titles and top scorer in the two competitions.


Ballon d’Or party


The list of 30 nominees also includes many distinguished players, according to the list announced on August 12, most notably the Norwegian Erling Halland and the Polish Robert Lewandowski, who finished second in the award last year, while the cancellation of the award in 2020 deprived him of a great opportunity to crown the Golden Ball.


The award will be announced for both men and women players, as well as the two Cuban awards for the best young player and Yashin for the best goalkeeper, which will be contested by Belgian Thibaut Courtois, Real Madrid goalkeeper, with the Brazilians Ederson (Manchester City), Alisson Becker (Liverpool) and Senegalese Edward Mendy (Chelsea).


Barcelona and Spain’s Alexia Botías, who won the award last year, is also among the most prominent candidates for the award for the best player this time, while Ada Hegerberg and Englishman Beth Mead compete strongly with her after winning the European Nations Cup with England in the middle of this year. general.


The list of nominees for the “Cuba” award for the best young player (under the age of 21) also includes 10 players, led by the Spanish player Javi, the Spanish player from Barcelona, ​​​​and the French Edouard Camavinga, who moved from French Rennes to Real Madrid in the summer of this year, in addition to the German Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich, Germany) and the Englishman Bucayo Saka (Arsenal, England).


The most important information before the Ballon d’Or party


Sports journalists Gabriel Hanot and Jacquet Ferrand are the ones who came up with the idea of ​​the Ballon d’Or for the players who perform the best throughout the season.


The Englishman, Stanley Matthews, was the first winner of the award in its first edition, 1956, when he was a Blackpool player.


So far, 65 Ballon d’Or awards have been awarded, and the most recent winner was Argentine Lionel Messi last year 2021.


Messi is considered the most awarded the prize 7 times, the first of which was 2009, and the last of it in 2021, and between them he won it 4 times in a row from 2009 to 2012 in an achievement that has never happened before.


The value of the golden ball amounts to about 3,000 euros, and the reward for the prize winner is 20,000 euros, while the ball is 31 cm high, 12 kg in weight, 22 cm in diameter and 23 cm in width.


– France Football magazine has awarded annually since 1956, with the exception of 2020, the Ballon d’Or, to those chosen by journalists as the best player in the world.


The Portuguese star, Cristiano Ronaldo, is in second place in the list of the most decorated winners of the award, with a score of 5 times, while there are 3 players who have won the Ballon d’Or 3 times, they are Michel Platini, Johan Cruyff, and Marco van Basten.

You might also like