Liverpool tops the golden record for the League Cup champions

Liverpool tops the golden record for the League Cup champions

Liverpool club, professional in its ranks, the Egyptian star Mohamed Salah, won its first title in the current year 2022, after winning the English League Cup for the ninth time in its history at the expense of its rival Chelsea.

The Reds grabbed the title from the Blues’ fangs with a penalty shootout 11-10 after the end of the original and extra times in a negative tie in the confrontation that took place between them at “Wembley” in the Carabao Cup final in the current season 2021-2022.

English League Cup

Liverpool’s 11-10 victory over Chelsea is the highest penalty shootout between two English Premier League teams in history.

Led by German coach Klopp, Liverpool won the ninth title to be the most English club to win the title, surpassing Manchester City, the runner-up, with 8 titles.

While Manchester City comes in second place with 8 titles, and Chelsea won the title 5 times, equally with Aston Villa and Manchester United.

The Reds won the League Cup 8 times prior to the 2022 edition, and finished runners-up on 4 occasions.

In the infographic, we review the golden record of clubs heading to the English League Cup:

Liverpool: 9 titles

Manchester City: 8 titles

Aston Villa: 5 titles

Manchester United: 5 titles

Chelsea: 5 titles

Tottenham: 4 titles

Nottingham Forest: 4 titles

Leicester City: 3 titles

Arsenal: 2 titles

Norwich City: 2 titles

Wolverhampton: 2 titles

Liverpool is currently preparing to face Norwich City, next Wednesday, at “Anfield”, as part of the fifth round of the FA Cup.

Liverpool is second in the English Premier League table with 60 points, behind the leaders Man City with 66 points, but the Reds have a postponed match, as they played a game less than City, while Norwich City occupies the last place with 17 points.

You might also like