The stars who have won the Ballon d’Or, after announcing the nominees for the 2021 award

The stars who have won the Ballon d’Or, after announcing the nominees for the 2021 award

Ballon d'Or award


The Argentine star, Lionel Messi, of Paris Saint-Germain, is at the forefront of the list of the most decorated stars with the Ballon d’Or award throughout history, which is awarded by the French magazine “France Football” for the best player in the world annually.

The French magazine “France Football” revealed the list of all 30 players nominated for the Ballon d’Or award for 2021, which will be awarded to the winner during the ceremony to be held on November 29.

The list of 30 nominees for this prestigious award, which was not awarded last year due to the coronavirus pandemic, was chosen based on the votes of 180 journalists from around the world.

Messi won the Golden Ball award 6 times during his career, winning it 4 times in a row: 2009, 2010, 2011, and 2012, before returning to crown it again in 2015 and the year before last, knowing that the award was canceled for the first time in the history of the year. the past.

Portuguese star Cristiano Ronaldo, Manchester United player, occupies second place in the list of the most awarded Ballon d’Or with 5 times: 2008, 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2017.

The list of players who won the Golden Ball was as follows:

Messi: 6 times. Years: (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019)

Cristiano Ronaldo: 5 years (2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017)

Michel Platini: 3 times (1983, 1984, 1985)

Johan Cruyff: 3 times (1971, 1973, 1974)

Marco van Basten: (1988, 1989, 1992)

Franz Beckenbauer: Twice My Year (1972, 1976)

The phenomenon Ronaldo: Twice in 1997 (1997, 2002)

Alfredo Di Stefano: Twice in the Year (1957, 1959)

Kevin Keegan: Twice My Year (1978, 1979)

Karl-Heinz Rummenigge: Twice My Year (1980, 1981)

 For more news about English and international
football, click here
You might also like