Villarreal Win Their First Europea League

Villarreal won the Europea League for the first time in their history.

The Spanish team beat Manchester United in the final match on penalties 11-10.

The original and extra time had ended in a 1-1 tie.

Man United’s starter line-up was:

De Gea, Wan-Bissaka, Bailly, Lindelof, Shaw; McTominay, Pogba, Greenwood, Fernandes, Rashford, Cavani.

While Villarreal:

Rulli, Foyth, Albiol, Pau Torres, Pedraza, Parejo, Capoue, Trigueros, Moreno, Bacca, Pino.

Villarreal Win the Europea League

For the first time in their history, Villarreal won the Europea League at the expense of Manchester United.

The Spanish team opened the scoring through Gerard Moreno after 29 minutes.

Then, Manchester United adjusted the score by Edinson Cavani in the 55th minute.

With this trophy, the Spanish team guaranteed its seat in the Champions League next season.


Furthermore, following his goal today, Cavani became the oldest player to score a goal for Man United in European Finals.

At 34 years and 101 days, he beat Teddy Sheringham’s 33 years and 54 days, and Bobby Charltons’s 30 years and 231 days.

In addition, he became the third player to score in the final of a European Championship for an English club at the age of at least 34 years.

Moreno, Villarreal’s star, became the first player to score at least 30 goals for the team in one season in all competitions.

And that’s since Giuseppe Rossi scored 32 goals in the 2010-2011 season.

He also became the 10th player in the top five European leagues to score at least 30 goals in all competitions this season.

Only Lionel Messi, 38 goals, beat him in La Liga.


See also: Barcelona To Face Real Madrid In The Spanish Super Cup

You might also like